Presentation Evening. Saturday 24th February 2018

The 2018 presentation evening

The club held its presentation evening on Saturday. A grand evening indeed. Thank you to everyone who  attended. The evening started ‘in reverse’ with the quiz & raffle starting the evening. Congratulations to Mr. Robertsons table & their M&S goodie bag win & to the wooden spoon ‘winners’ of another M&S goodie bag  😉 Nine winners of Intu & Cowell garden centre vouchers for the raffle draw…..A few oohs & aahs as folk had realised they had just missed out by the odd number! 🙂 

The new banner

A new, 10ft x 8ft ‘podium banner’ was proudly on display for the first time. This will form a backdrop for future presentation evenings & also for  the clubs races that it hosts. 

A little after 8pm the awards evening started with the junior awards. A speech by Ken and co-hosted alongside Jan & the junior coaches.

Next a speech by Graham, thanking the clubs coaching team, club members, the ladies group of representatives, Tom Hanson & Steve Robertson. Graham touched upon the 2018 club championship (including a new NEHL category) senior membership & finished with some news! Two new replacement club trophies. 

A Newburn River Run trophy, re-named the Colin Bolton Trophy & a new Alec Burns trophy for the fastest lap of the day for the Good Friday Relays. Alec Burns memorabilia was also on display from the 1936 Berlin Olympic Games. 

Then it was time for the award winners for the seniors & vets, which also included a ‘surprise’ 2017 Elswick Harriers NEHL award for all age group winners. Next the recipients of the clubs special awards. The most improved athletes were Robyn Bennett & Rob Lambert. The Quantum awards, for people who go that extra mile to help the club. For the ladies Quantum award, it was Valerie Wilson for her work in club results provision & the mens award went to Keith Batey for his work on Welfare, Run / Talk Initiatives, & junior committee assistance. All awards on Saturday evening were ALL well -deserving. The evening finished with buffet, drinks & chat. Finally, my thanks to Michelle, Frank, Rob, Martin, Sharon, Kirsty & Mark.  The club can look forward to 2019’s presentation evening, when the club will be 130 years young. See you all there next year (with a special guest? Possibly…..) Below are a selection of the awards recipients. Cheers, GB.

Melissa Bateson: 1st V40
Keith Batey: Quantum Award Recipient
1st U17 Christopher Mason with coach Rob Emson
1st U20: Robyn Bennett
3rd U13: Charles Mason with coach Claire Tumia
2017 NEHL Silver Medalists: Richard, Jude & Jennifer
Senior Mens winner Richard Houghton
Gold Medalists: 2017 NEHL winners. L to R: Graham Leslie, Michelle Coleman, Lee Bennett, Jill Bennett.
Coach Micky Shore with joint U15 winners Suzannah Fielding & Hannah Tumia
1st V50 Rob Lambert
Most Improved Female Athlete: Robyn Bennett
1st Under 15: Rowan Bennett


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.